The Canadian Art Database


circuit4 logo

Digital culture is created and experienced through the use of digital technology. The many branches of digital culture range from electronic art to smart fabrics, from content development and digitization to scientific research and cultural production. New media is an umbrella term used to describe evolving forms of computer-based media. Because these forms change frequently, they may also be characterized as unstable media.

Circuit4 was established by Nina Czegledy, Mark Beam and Nichola Feldman-Kiss with support from the Virtual Museum of Canada and the Canada Council for the Arts. The project was suspended in 2005 and in 2007 was transferred to the CCCA. Nina Czegledy continues to direct the circuit4 project.

Circuit4: Credits

Introduction to Digital Culture
Timeline of Digital Culture
International Links
  Digital Culture Resources
  Art and Technology Section
(The Canadian Art Database )

Copyright Terms
The contents of this web site are protected under Canadian and International copyright law. By proceeding to The Canadian Art Database, you are acknowledging that you have read and accepted the CCCA´s copyright terms.

Copyright ©1997, 2020. The CCCA Canadian Art Database. All rights reserved.


Mark Beam, beaming, llc., Mapping Concept, Business Plan Development, and Co-Author
Nina Czegledy, Community Relations Consultant and Co-Author
Nichola Feldman-Kiss, Partnership Development and Co-Author


Daniel Dion, Director
Bernard Bilodeau, Administrative Director


The following individuals served on the advisory committee for a 12-month period, beginning in 2004 and ending in 2005:

Marilyn Burgess, Former New Media Program Officer, Canada Council for the Arts
Currently Senior Policy Advisor for New Media Sector, Telefilm Canada

Liane Davison, Surrey Art Gallery

Alain Depocas, The Daniel Langlois Foundation for Art, Science, and Technology

Cheryl L'Hirondelle, Independent Artist

Roger Malina, Leonardo/ISAST

2003-2005 PROJECT TEAM

Mark Beam, beaming, llc., Mapping Concept, Business Plan Development, and Co-Author
Nina Czegledy, Community Relations Consultant and Co-Author
Nichola Feldman-Kiss, Partnership Development and Co-Author
Katie Varney, Digital Art Intern, Royal Ontario Museum


Canadian Heritage Information Network (CHIN)
Allison Simpson, Project Lead
Danielle Boily, Manager, Portals Management & Design
Robyn Jeffrey, Project Officer
Sonya Herring, Project Assistant
Kyla Tichkowsky, Project Assistant
Martin Lajoie, Internship Coordinator
With the participation of fellow staff members


With financial assistance from the Canada Council for the Arts


Royal Ontario Museum
Brian Porter, Director, New Media Resources


Marilyn Burgess


Andrée Christensen, Coordination, Canadian Heritage Information Network (CHIN)
Benoît Thouin, TETRACOMM inc.
Brigitte Rabéjac, Alias Traductions


Ken Larose, Metaphrase


Vincelli Communications
Gina Vincelli, Account Executive
Stéphane Lettre, Project Manager
Pierre St-Amour, Creative Director
Radu Gabor, Application Developer and Web Programmer
Vincent Barrat, Web Programmer
Gino Forest, Flash Programmer and Animator


Funding for the internship component of this project provided by:

Human Resources and Skills Development Canada


Special thanks to the following institutions for completing prototype surveys for the Canadian Landscape:

The Banff Centre
The Banff New Media Institute
Centre for Research and Documentation, The Daniel Langlois Foundation for Art, Science, and Technology
Elektra Festival. Annually presented by ACREQ (Association pour la création et la recherche électroacoustiques du Québec)
Emily Carr Institute of Art + Design
Emily Carr Institute of Art + Design - Intersections Digital Studio
HEXAGRAM Institute for Research-Creation in Media Arts and Technologies Meduse
Musée d'art contemporain de Montréal
NSCAD University (Nova Scotia College of Art and Design)
Neutral Ground
Oakville Galleries
Ontario College of Art & Design
Royal Ontario Museum
School of Interactive Arts - Simon Fraser University
Surrey Art Gallery
Walter Phillips Gallery
Year Zero One

Special thanks to these artists who contributed reproductions of their work in response to an open call:

Kate Armstrong
Jack Butler
Nina Czegledy
Max Dean & Raffaello D'Andrea
Wayne Dunkley
R. Bruce Elder
Nichola Feldman-Kiss
Eric Fong
Ken Goldberg
Adad Hannah
Steve Heimbecker
Kathy Kennedy
The Kitchen
Germaine Koh
Diane Landry
Rafael Lozano-Hemmer
Marie-Jeanne Musiol
Nancy Paterson
Shawn Pinchbeck
David Rokeby
Galen Scorer
Michael Snow
Gisèle Trudel
Camille Turner
Year Zero One

Additional thanks to the following individuals who contributed to

Michael Alstad
Roy Ascott
Jann Bailey
René Barsalo
David Clark
Luc Courchesne
Don Dawson
Su Ditta
Sandra Fauconnier
Monika Fleishman
Skawennati Tricia Fragnito
Jacquie Gijssen
Laurence Grant
Jason Hobbs
Johanna Householder
Susan Kennard
Anthony Kiendl
Melanie Kjorlien
Kelly Langgard
Francine Lecours
Jason Lewis
Timothy Long
Lucie Marchand
Nancy Paterson
Kathleen Pirrie Adams
Simon Pockley
Paola Poletto
Louise Poissant
Jemima Rellie
Catherine Richards
Jocelyn Robert
Renee Schacht
Ana Serrano
Tom Sherman
John Sobol
Felix Stalder
Minna Tarkka
David Vogt
Bruce Wands
Katherine Watson
Sha Xin Wei
Norman White
Will Young
Anne-Marie Zeppetelli